On Monday 24 July, the Elephant of First Bank tied their record from last season with longest winning streak in the regular season (21 games). Not only did they extend that record this year to 25 games, they went ahead to win the championship after an emphatic victory over First Deepwaters.

The First Bank team brought to bear their experience as they dominated the game in all four quarters leading with as much as 37 points in the 3rd Quarter. Chidinma Nwakama and Madgelene Uteko were both phenomenal on both ends of the court with the latter emerging as Finals MVP. The game ended 84 - 53.

In the third place game, IGP Queens stunned one time champions Dolphins by defeating them in one of the most thrilling games of the 2017 Season. Amaka`s 3 pointer with 7secs left in the game gave the Queens the edge over Dolphins, one they held on to till the final buzzer. 

The Final Standings of the 2017 Season is as follow; 

1. First Bank

2. First Deepwater

3. IGP Queens

4. Dolphins

5. GT 2000

6. Customs

7. Plateau Rocks

8. Delta Force

First Deepwater`s Coach Sola Somala emerged the Coach of the tournament and Dolphins` Tokunbo Olaosebikan had the most 3 points in the entire tournament. The Top 5 for the tournament are;

Upe Atosu - First Bank

Kasham Emmanuel - First Deepwater

Tina Odion - First Bank

Magdelene Uteko - First Bank

Grace Okonkwo - IGP Queens.

With this, the Elephant Girls have now won 46 consecutive league games. They will represent Nigeria along with First Deepwater during the FIBA African Club Champions for Women (FIBAACCW) qualifiers later this year.  

Image - Sule Itopa/Dolphins


Leave a Reply