The second round of the Basketball Africa League (BAL) qualifiers tagged - Elite 16 - will tip off tomorrow at the Palais Polyvalent des Sports in Yaounde, Cameroon. The 12 teams that qualified from the first round and the 4 teams that were given wild card will participate in the tournament. 

These have been grouped into two - Group G (West Division) and Group H (East Division), and the top three teams from each group will make it to the regular season of the Basketball African League.

Group G

Class A - Forces Armees et de Police, Nigelec Basketball Club, Groupement Sportif des P├ętroliers, and Al Naser.

Class B - Abidjan Basketball Club, BC Mazembe, Manga Basketball and AS Police.

Group H 

Class A - Patriots Basketball Club, G.N.B.C, University of Zambia Pacers, and J.K.T Basketball Club.

Class B - Kenya Port Authority, Ferroviario de Maputo, Cobra Sports, and City Oilers.

Group G games will be played in Yaounde and will tip off tomorrow. The eight teams in the group have been put into two classes of four teams each. The teams in each class will play in a round robin format with the top two teams advancing to the semifinals. The two winners of the semifinals and the winner of the third place game qualify for the BAL. The same format will be applied for Group H which will hold in Kigali from December 17 to 22.

Five Nigerian players - Eli Abraham, Timothy Kwaor, Dele Ademola, Wahab Yakub, and Onyeka Okeke - will be participating in the Group G games - four with AS Nigelec and one with Al Naser. 

All the games can be streamed live on FIBA`s YouTube channel and Facebook page. 

Images - FIBA


Leave a Reply