As part of this year’s NBBF stakeholders’ gathering, veterans who have contributed to the development of basketball in the will be honoured. There will also be awards for players and teams who have performed exceptionally in the past year. 

The focus of the award will be the professional leagues – male and female – and the lower divisions in Nigeria. Here are the nominees;

Player of the Year (Male)

Abubakar Usman – Kano Pillars 

Dele Ademola – Kano Pillars

Romaric Yamalin – Nigeria Customs

Romeo Wilfred – Kwara Falcons

Player of the Year (Female)

Nkechi Akashili – First Bank

Atosu Upe – First Bank

Okpe Patience – Dolphins

Young Player of the Year (Male)

Osai Godspower – Delta Force

Oriakhi Owen – Hoops & Read

Liman Lesu – Gombe Jewel

Abogidi Efemana – Hoops & Read

Young Player of the Year (Female)

Edeh Amarachukwu – Enugu City Coal

Ruth Udueyin – Zamfara Basketball Club

Ifunanya Okoye – First Deepwater

Adeola Badmos – First Deepwater

Team of the Year (Male)

Kano Pillars Basketball Club

Nigeria Customs Basketball Club

Hoops & Read Basketball Academy

Gombe Jewel Baskeball Club

Team of the Year (Female)

First Bank Basketball Club

IGP Queens Basketball Club

Nigeria Customs Basketball Club

Dolphins Basketball Club

State Chairman of the Year

Dr Joseph Adeyemo – Kwara State Basketball Association

Pastor Skambo Morrison – Kaduna State Basketball Association

Mr Levmus Malkwap – Plateau State Basketball Association

Young Referee of the Year

Joseph Patrick Agbo

Babamuda James

Iyoha Obehi Brian

The Awards Dinner will start by 7pm at the NAF Conference Center and Suites, Abuja.


Leave a Reply