Basketball fans across the country who have been patiently waiting for league games to commence can breathe a huge sigh of relief. The Basketball Federation has announced that the men`s league will be held from the 8th of July to the 9th of November 2019 while the women`s league is expected to tip off on the 1st of July. The Lagos State Basketball Association has also rebranded the city league - Eko Basketball League scheduled to tip off later this month. 

The schedule of games of the men`s league has not been announced as the Federation awaits clubs` confirmation of participation. Invitation letters and registration forms have been sent to 25 teams, from both Atlantic and Savannah Conferences, expected to participate in the league.

The teams include Lagos Islander, Union Bank, and Dodan Warriors who have been absent from the premier league following a ban in 2016 for participating in the African Basketball League, as well as the winner and runner up of the Division 1 Championship. All the clubs interested in participating in the women`s league are to apply for a slot out of the 24 slots available. 

The Eko Basketball League will feature 8 men`s team - Nigeria Customs, Police Batons, Raptors, Dodan Warriors, NAF Rockets, Hoops and Read, VGC Pitch Bulls and Flames of Lagos - and 7 women`s team - First Bank, IGP Queens, MFM Basketball Club, First Deep Water, Raptors, Customs and IGP Queens. The league games will be played at the Molade Okoya Thomas Hall, Teslim Balogun Stadium, the National Stadium, Surulere and the Lagos State Sport Centre (Rowe Park),Yaba.

Exciting times ahead.


Leave a Reply